New Ebook: Profiles on Route Fifty’s 10 Navigator Award Winners


Connecting state and local government leaders

Read stories about how good and important ideas have been implemented in state and local governments around the United States.

PITTSBURGH — It’s been a long road for Route Fifty’s Navigator Awards program since it launched this spring. Wednesday night at an event at the Heinz History Center, I helped the Route Fifty team honor our 50 finalists and announce the 10 winners across five categories.

We’ve packaged the profiles of the winning finalists into a new ebook, which is ready for download. Here’s who won ...

Government Allies and Cross-Sector Partners

  • Timothy Elliott, Richard Paris, Joseph Finn and Russell Osgood, Firefighter Cancer Support Network’s Boston Cancer Prevention Pilot Program
  • Derek Eder and Christopher Whitaker, Chicago Hack Night

Agency and Department Leadership

  • Jean Ann Lawson, Chief Performance Officer, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Brian W. Ness, Director, Idaho Transportation Department

State and Local Executive Leadership

  • City Manager Harry Black and Team, City of Cincinnati
  • Gov. Mark Dayton and Lt. Gov. Tina Smith, State of Minnesota

Next Generation

  • Ed Blayney, Innovation Project Manager, Louisville Metro Government
  • Nathan Rix, Senior Policy Analyst, Oregon Liquor Control Commission

Data and IT Innovators

  • Diane Pappas, CEO Strategic Planning and Digital Innovations, L.A. Unified School District
  • Tyler Kleykamp, Chief Data Officer, State of Connecticut